Jumping Horse of the Year Series


It is envisaged that the series will act as a beneficial preparation for both horses and riders who are aiming to compete in the World Cups, Perth Royal and Patrons Cup at the end of the year by encouraging horses to comfortably move from 1.30m to 1.45m+ over a pre-arranged time frame.


To administer, along with jump clubs, up to 10 rounds of the series to be run between March and November each calendar year


  • An annual series of shows hosting Horse of the Year Series events will run throughout the calendar year in WA; set by EWAJC.
  • Expressions of interest to become a host club of the Horse of the Year Series should be directed to the EWAJC prior to September of the previous year.  This can be done in writing directly to the committee or via the EWA dates submission form.
  • The HOTY Class is to be run as an open class under article 238.2.2 or 273.
  • The Horse of the Year classes, and the series, are considered to be most prestigious in Western Australia and clubs are asked to make sure that the classes are placed appropriately in the program, preferably between noon and 2pm, to highlight the nature of the class.


  • A Horse competing in a HOTY class may not compete in a EWAJ Bronze or Silver Leaderboard qualifier class at the same fixture.
  • The EWAJC offers financial assistance of up to $800 to each participating host club to help run the qualifier as per the conditions laid out by the EWAJC
  • There is to be a minimum total cash prize money of $1300 per class (EWA Jumping + club contributions).
  • Vouchers or merchandise may be given in addition to the cash prize money total but may not supplement the cash prize money total as above.


  • Maintenance of the leader board is to be the responsibility of Equestrian WA.
  • Points will be awarded from each round with 1st - 10, 2nd - 8, 3rd - 6, 4th - 5, 5th - 4 and additionally each clear first round that is not placed- 1 point.
  • The Horse of the Year leader board will be based on the performance of the horse
  • Where a horse accrues a total of 16 penalties or more in the first-round of a series competition the horse does not accrue Leaderboard points.
  • The winner of the leader board will be awarded a rug, trophy and prize at the annual EWA Awards night


2018 - Diamond B Vigo

2017 - Oaks Vendetta
2016 – Yalambi’s Carmen
2015 – Danzastar
2014 – Oaks Redwood
2013 – Sarnia Noblewood Classic
2012 – Phantom Vortex|
2011 – Phantom Vortex
2010 – Barrabadeen Halifax & DVZ Fuerstin Faberge
2009 – Sarnia Park Flaunt
2008 – Argyle Stables Pico Bello
2007 – Sarnia Park Flaunt
2006- Showametal Barrington

EWA Jumping HOTY Series 201901 marked.pdf

2019 EWA Jumping Leaderboards HoTY