Annual Awards

In early February each year, the EWA Awards Night brings members together to celebrate the major achievements of our home-grown sports stars and luminaries from the seven sports under the EWA banner - Dressage, Eventing, Interschool, Jumping, Show Horse, Para-Equestrian and Vaulting. The Awards honour those who have made an outstanding contribution to the WA equestrian community as an athlete, coach, administrator, owner, club, event organiser or volunteer.

Dear Members and Supporters of EWA,

We are pleased to announce that we have decided to host an alternative event following the disappointment of cancelling the previously planned Gala Night.

We are looking at a casual get to together on Saturday, 27th February 2021 here at the State Equestrian Centre starting at 6:30pm to hold our 2020 Awards Night.

The idea is to provide the opportunity to acknowledge the achievements of our members in 2020 and hold a fundraiser in support of the EWA Bush Fire Relief Fund,

whereby of the $25 entry fee, $20 will be donated towards the EWA Bushfire Relief Fund.

We will utilise the indoor arena area as centre stage and have food vans set up outside for everyone to grab a bite to eat and the bar upstairs will be open.

COME AS YOU ARE - BOOTS 'n ALL - We look forward to seeing you on the night.

Past Events

  2019 Awards Night     2018 Awards Night 

  2017 Awards Night     2016 Awards Night 

Awards Categories

Athlete of the Year This award recognises an athlete who has consistently achieved at a high level during the year, either on a state, national or international stage. They display excellent sportsmanship and are an ambassador for the sport of equestrian.

Young Athlete of the Year This award recognises the achievements of an up-and-coming young equestrian athlete who has demonstrated significant talent, dedication and commitment to the sport.

Special Services to the Sport This award recognises an individual that has contributed the most to EWA, or an individual equestrian sport discipline, over a lengthy period. EWA considers this award as a significant honour. The recognition and acknowledgement by EWA of this recipient indicates their commendable contribution to the growth and success of equestrian in Western Australia. 

Horse of the Year This award recognises a horse that has achieved exceptional performances during the year on a state, national or international stage.
Para-Equestrian of the Year This award recognises a Para-Equestrian athlete who has pursued their equestrian ambitions despite a disability. The individual has overcome significant adversity through courage, human spirit, perseverance and resilience to consistently achieve at a local, state, national or international level.
Official of the Year This award recognises an individual who has attained a level of excellence in the field of officiating (i.e. course builder, technical delegate, judge) and whose performance sets them apart from their peers. The official is a positive ambassador for the sport of equestrian and conducts themselves with a high degree of decorum and professionalism at all times. The official must be currently accredited EA Official.
Coach of the Year This award recognises a coach who has made a significant contribution to the promotion and education of riders of all levels and disciplines. They have contributed to the success of a person or team that they have coached, or been the major cause for an increased standard of coaching in an equestrian sport with which they have been associated. The coach must be a currently accredited EA Coach.
Volunteer of the Year This award recognises a volunteer who has given their time and resources to the running of equestrian events and has not received remuneration for their services. Administrators, coaches, and officials are not eligible to enter this category. Volunteers foster positive difference in the lives of others through support and encouragement, often with self-sacrifice and without personal gain.
Administrator of the Year This award recognises an individual who has made a significant contribution to the administration of an equestrian sport, club or event.
Club of the Year This award recognises an EWA affiliated club that fosters participation and engagement at all levels of the sport, has shown innovation in administration, skills development and personal growth for members and has provided opportunities for a diverse range of members as well as a broad community appeal.
Event of the Year This award recognises an event run by an EWA Affiliate that can truly be considered to have achieved a standard of excellence greater than that of other equestrian events. The nominated event may involve local, regional, state, national or international competitors, single or multiple disciplines, and may be contested by individuals or teams. Above all, it must set itself apart from other events through its high standard or organisation and resounding success.
Owner of the Year This award recognises an owner (must be an EWA member) who has contributed to the success of equestrian sport by providing horses of the highest quality to riders within the various equestrian disciplines. These horses have generally competed to an exceptional level during the year either on the State, National, or International stage.  

Awards Policy

For information on the selection process, selection panel and award categories, please refer to the EWA Annual Awards Policy (pdf).